

# 10th SCIENTIFIC MEETING "ACCELERATING COLLABORATION" SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM May 23-26, 2023 Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel Lower Concourse

THURSDAY, MAY 23: Travel day for out of town attendees.

# PLEASE NOTE: The dinner will be held on Friday May 24, 2024.

Agenda is subject to change.

## FRIDAY, MAY 24

Start	End	Duration	Item	Location
7:00 am	12:00 noon	300 min	REGISTRATION	Osgoode Foyer
			POSTERS	
			Installed between 7:00 and 10:30 am	Sheraton Hall A-F
7:00 am	8:00 am	60 min	Breakfast	Osgoode Ballroom West
8:00 am	9:00 am	60 min	WELCOME & OPENING REMARKS	Osgoode Ballroom East
			Dr. Jim Woodgett,	
			President and Scientific Director, TFRI	
			Michael Mazza,	
			Executive Director, Terry Fox Foundation	
9:00 am	10:30 am	90 min	PLENARY #1	Osgoode Ballroom East
			Marathon of Hope Cancer Centres Network:	
			Patients, Populations and Equitable Health	
			Systems	
			Co-chairs: Drs. Isabel Serrano, MOHCCN	
			Managing Director, and <b>Jennifer Graham</b> , Patient Partner	
			Speakers:	
			<b>Dr. Dean Regier</b> , Senior Scientist, Cancer Control	
			Research, BC Cancer	
			Dr. Yvonne Bombard, Canada Research Chair,	
			Unity Health Toronto and Associate Professor,	
			University of Toronto	
			Deirdre Weymann, MA, Senior Health Economist,	
			BC Cancer	
			Dr. Avram Denburg, MD, Oncologist and	
			Clinician-Scientist, SickKids	
			Kirsten Efremov, Patient Partner	

			Panellists: All	
10:30 am	11:00 am	30 min	Break All posters installed by this time	Osgoode Ballroom West
11:00 am	12:00 noon	60 min	KEYNOTE SPEAKER #1 Co-chairs: Dr. Jim Woodgett, TFRI President and Scientific Director, and Natalie A-K, Patient Partner Dr. Benjamin H. Kann, MD Assistant Professor of Radiation Oncology, Harvard Medical School	Ogoode Ballroom East
12:00 noon	1:00 pm	60 min	Lunch <b>REGISTRATION CLOSED</b>	Osgoode Ballroom West
1:00 pm	2:30 pm	90 min	PLENARY #2 Digital Health and Discovery Platform Use Case Demo Co-chairs: Drs. Natalie Szudy, DHDP Managing Director (TFRI), Laszlo Radvanyi, DHDP Independent Chair (OICR), and James Pereira and Denis Petitclerc, Patient Partners Part 1: DHDP Introduction/Demonstration Speakers: Drs. Natalie Szudy (DHDP/TFRI), Adrian Thorogood (TFRI); Benjamin Haibe-Kains (PMCC/UHN), Karen Cranston (UHN) Part 2: Speaker (AI and Precision Medicine): Dr. Michael Kolios, Associate Dean Research, Innovation, Toronto Metropolitan University Part 3: AI Panel: Roxana Sultan, VP Health, Vector Institute; Dr. Laurent Tillement, Director, AI and Health, Partnerships, MILA; Karl Martin, CTO, Integrate.ai; and Patient Partner (TBC)	Osgoode Ballroom East
2:30 pm	3:30 pm	60 min	PLENARY #3 Emerging Leaders in Cancer Research Co-chairs: Dr. Ly Vu, Scientist, Terry Fox Laboratory, BC Cancer Speakers: Dr. Anastasia Tikhonova, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre Dr. Bertrand Routy, Centre de Recherche du Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (Montreal) Dr. Ana Nikolic, University of Calgary Dr. Sushant Kumar, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, University of Toronto	
3:00 pm	3:30 pm	<b>120 min</b> <b>total</b> (30 min RF	RAPID FIRE PLENARY #1 (30 min) Chair: Dr. Rama Khokha, PMCC/UHN	Osgoode Ballroom East
3:30 pm	5:00 pm	90 min PS)		Sheraton Hall A-F
6:30 pm	9:00 pm	150 min	BANQUET DINNER	Osgoode Ballroom West

# SATURDAY, MAY 25

Start	End	Duration	Item	Location
6:15 am	7:30 am	75 min	TERRY FOX EARLY MORNING RUN	
7:00 am	8:00 am	60 min	Breakfast	Osgoode Ballroom West
8:00 am	9:30 am	90 min	PLENARY #4 At the Intersection of the Tumour Microenvironment and Cell Plasticity Co-chairs: Dr. Sonia del Rincon, McGill University, and Heather Hogan, Patient Partner, TBC Speakers: Dr. Marianne Koritzinsky, PMCC/UHN, Project Co-Leader, TFRI Program Project Grant: Triggers and Targets in the Tumour Microenvironment: Hypoxia and Beyond: "The Role of Oxygen Sensing in Cancer Cell Plasticity" Dr. Joshua Scurll, PDF, Program Project Grant: Targeting Tumour Plasticity in Advanced Prostate Cancer Dr. Julian Lum, Distinguished Scientist, Deeley Cancer Centre, Victoria; and Project Leader, TFRI Program Project Grant: The Spatial Metabolome Hubble Project to Decipher Tumour Driven Immunosuppression (Metabohub)	
9:30 am	11:00 am		RAPID FIRE PLENARY #2 (30 min) Chair: Dr. Rama Khokha, PMCC/UHN POSTER SESSION #2 (60 min)	Osgoode Ballroom East Sheraton Hall A-F
11:00 am	12 noon	60 min		Osgoode Ballroom East
12:00 noon	12:30 pm	30 min	GROUP PHOTOGRAPH	
12:30 pm	1:30 pm	60 min	Lunch	Osgoode Ballroom West
1:30 pm	3:00 pm	(Short video followed by three	PLENARY #5 Tribute to Dr. Connie Eaves: Stem Cell Pioneer Co-chairs: Dr. Aly Karsan, BC Cancer, Dr. Susanna Tan, Scientist, R&D, Stemcell Technologies Speakers: Dr. Peter Zandstra, Director of the School of Biomedical Engineering, UBC Dr. Long Nguyen, PMCC Dr. Kristin Hope, PhD Senior Scientist, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, University Health Network, Ontario Institute for Cancer Research Investigator	Osgoode Ballroom East

3:00 pm 3:30 pm	3:30 pm 4:45 pm	30 min 75 min (60 min talk and 15 min wrap up)	Chair, and Jessie Micholuk, TFRI, MOHCCN Program Manager. Break PLENARY #6 Marathon of Hope Cancer Centres Network Data Sharing (60 min) Co-chairs: Dr. Adrian Thorogood, TFRI/MOHCCN, Dr. Lincoln Stein, OICR, and Melissa Coombs, Patient Partner	
			Panellists: Dr. Ian Watson, McGill University Dr. Jennifer Chan, University of Calgary Dr. Michael Brudno, CanDIG (UHN) Darrin Park, Patient Partner MEETING WRAP UP	

### SUNDAY, MAY 26

Start	En	nd	Duration	Item	Location
9:00 am	1:00	pm	240 min	MOHCCN MEETING BY INVITATION ONLY	Osgoode Ballroom East /West

#### **10<sup>th</sup> Scientific Organizing Committee Members:**

#### TFRI

Dr. Jim Woodgett, TFRI President and Scientific Director Dr. Isabel Serrano, Managing Director, MOHCCN

Dr. Natalie Szudy, Managing Director, DHDP

Dr. Russ Watkins, Senior Programs Manager, TFRI

Marina Lefilliatre, Senior Executive Assistant Kelly Curwin, Chief Communications Officer

Dr. Christopher Paige, TFRI Board Chair, Senior Scientist UHN

Dr. Adrian Thorogood, TFRI Data Governance Manager

#### ON

Dr. Rama Khokha, PPG PL, ON, Senior Scientist, PMCC

Dr. Robert Rottapel, PPG PL ON, Senior Scientist, UHN/UofT , and TFRI-Ontario Node Chair (joins March 6)

### QC

Dr. Sonia del Rincon, TFRI-Quebec Co-Node Leader, QC, Associate Professor, Gerald Bronfman Department of Oncology, McGill University; Investigator, Lady Davis Institute, Segal Cancer Centre-Jewish General Hospital Dr. Jean-Yves Masson, Universite Laval, TFRI-Quebec Co-Node Leader

### BC

Dr. Ly Vu, NI Awardee, BC, Scientist, Terry Fox Laboratory, BCCRC Dr. Jessica McAlpine, PPG PL BC, Surgeon-Scientist, Director OVCARE, BCCRC and VGH, and Professor& Division Head, Gynecology Oncology, UBC Dr. Dean Regier, MOH, Senior Scientist, Cancer Control Research | BC Cancer Associate Director Faculty of Medicine | Academy of Translational Medicine Associate Professor, School of Population and Public Health Dr. Aly Karsan, TFRI PPG Leader, BC Cancer

Mr. Denis Petitclerc, Patient Partner Mr. James Pereira, Patient Partner

As of April 10, 2024