skip to main content
About Us

Board of Directors and Executive Members

The Terry Fox Research Institute is governed and managed by a Board of Directors and an Executive. The Board and Executive are chaired by the President and Scientific Director.

Board of Directors

Dr. Victor Ling, Chair

See biographical information under President and Scientific Director


Mr. Darrell Fox

Darrell Fox is the younger brother of Terry Fox, for whom the Terry Fox Foundation and the Terry Fox Research Institute (TFRI) are named. In 1980, at the age of 17, Darrell joined Terry (and Terry’s best friend Doug Alward) on his Marathon of Hope in Saint John, New Brunswick. Darrell has had a long history of involvement with his brother's legacy. In 1990, Darrell became the Provincial Director for The Terry Fox Foundation in British Columbia. In 1994, he moved to the National Office in Toronto, Ontario where he served for two years as the Assistant National Director and then National Director of the Terry Fox Foundation from 1996 to 2009. To date, the Foundation has raised over $600 million for cancer research worldwide. Today Darrell serves on the TFRI’s Board of Directors and is a Senior Advisor to the Institute. A holder of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal, Darrell continues to be involved in projects and activities related to Terry Fox and his 34-year legacy.


Mr. Iain MacKay

Mr. Iain MacKay, a retired Vancouver chartered accountant, joined the TFRI Board of Directors in 2012. Born in the UK and educated in Scotland, Mr. MacKay immigrated to Canada in 1964 and founded the Vancouver-based firm MacKay LLP Chartered Accountants in 1970. During his time in Vancouver, he has served in several capacities: finance chair of the BC Liberal Party, council member with the BC Institute of Chartered Accountants. He also served on the boards for St. George's School (including two years as chair), the BC Cancer Agency and the BC Cancer Foundation (including four years as chair). Mr. MacKay has been awarded the Queen's Jubilee Medal, the BC Community Service Award and the honorary designation of "FCA" by both the Yukon and BC Institutes of Chartered Accountants.


Dr. Chris Paige

Dr. Christopher Paige is Vice President Research of the University Health Network in Toronto, Ontario . A Senior Scientist in the Division of Stem Cell and Developmental Biology at the Ontario Cancer Institute, his research interests are centred on the processes involved in development and disregulation of B cells involved in the immune system.



Members of the Executive

Dr. Simon B. Sutcliffe

A 1970 graduate of St. Bartholomew's Hospital, London, England, Dr. Sutcliffe's training encompassed internal medicine, scientific research, medical and radiation oncology in the U.K., South Africa, U.S. and Canada. He has been president and CEO of the Princess Margaret Hospital/Ontario Cancer Institute (1994-1996) and the BC Cancer Agency (2000- 2009).

He chairs the board of the Institute for Health Systems Transformation and Sustainability; is president of the International Cancer Control Congress Association, the International Network for Cancer Treatment and Research-Canada Branch (Two Worlds Cancer Collaboration); is a senior advisor to the Terry Fox Research Institute; and is chief medical officer for QuBiologics Inc. and Omnitura Inc. He is a past chair of the board of the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer (CPAC, 2009-2012), the Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research (MSFHR, 2006-7) and has served on the boards of CPAC, MSFHR, and Genome BC. He is an adjunct clinical professor at the University of British Columbia and an associate scientist with the Michael Smith Genome Sciences Centre at the BC Cancer Agency.

Dr. Sutcliffe received the Queen Elizabeth 50th Jubilee Gold Medal (2003) and the BC Medical Association Terry Fox Award (2009) for his lifetime services to cancer control.


Dr. Carol Cass, Alberta Node Leader

Dr. Carol Cass is Professor Emeritus Oncology and Adjunct Professor Biochemistry at the University of Alberta. She received her Ph.D. from the University of California Berkeley in Zoology (Cell & Developmental Biology). A former Canada Research Chair in Oncology and Terry Fox Cancer Research Scientist, Dr. Cass’s research on membrane transport proteins and their role in the physiology and pharmacology of nucleosides and anti-cancer nucleoside drugs has translated into better use of nucleoside drugs in cancer treatments. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences and the recipient of numerous research awards.

Dr. Cass served as Chair of the Department of Oncology at the University of Alberta from 1996-2007 and Director of the Cross Cancer Institute, the tertiary cancer centre for Edmonton and northern Alberta, from 2003-2010. She has played a national leadership role in Canadian cancer research, including service as a founding member of the Institute Advisory Board of the Institute of Cancer Research of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and as Chair of the Advisory Committee on Research of the former National Cancer Institute of Canada. Dr. Cass is currently Leader for the Alberta Node of TFRI and a member of the Executive Committee of TFRI.


Dr. Michael Johnston, Atlantic Node Leader

Dr. Michael Johnston is currently a professor of thoracic surgery in the Department of Surgery at Dalhousie University. He is TFRI's Atlantic Node Leader and a member of the TFRI Executive.

Dr. Johnston is interested in the fields of thoracic oncology and lung cancer research. He is a co-investigator for the TFRI Early Detection Lung Cancer Study, heading up the Halifax-based study at the QEII Health Sciences Centre. The study is funded by TFRI and The Canadian Partnership Against Cancer.

Dr. Johnston's other research interests include targeting strategies for cancer therapies, cancer model systems and mesothelioma, a cancer of the chest cavity linked to asbestos exposure.


Dr. Marco Marra, BC Node Leader

Dr. Marra is director of Canada's Michael Smith Genome Sciences Centre (GSC) at the BC Cancer Agency and a former holder of a Terry Fox Young Investigators Award (2004).

He is a Distinguished Scientist with the BC Cancer Agency, a Professor of Medical Genetics at the University of British Columbia, and an adjunct Professor of Molecular biology and Biochemistry at Simon Fraser University. The BC Cancer Agency and UBC are among TFRI's 41 national partners.

Read more about Dr Marra


Node Leader: Dr. Spencer Gibson


Dr. Spencer Gibson is head of Cell Biology at the Research Institute in Oncology and Hematology at CancerCare Manitoba and professor in the departments of Biochemistry and Medical Genetics, and Immunology at the University of Manitoba.

Dr. Anne-Marie Mes-Masson, Quebec Node Leader

Dr. Mes-Masson is the Scientific Director of the Institut du cancer de Montréal, the cancer research arm of the CHUM Research Institute, and the FRSQ cancer network. Dr. Mes-Masson's research involves the identification of key markers of ovarian and prostate cancers and their therapeutic applications.


Dr. Robert Rottapel, Ontario Node Leader

Dr Rottapel is Head of the Division of Stem Cells and Developmental Biology, Ontario Cancer Institute, Toronto. His research interests are centred upon the identification of the molecular pathways involved in blood and lymph node development and carcinogenesis.

Back to Top