skip to main content
About Us

Scientific Advisory Council

Dr. David R. Parkinson, MD

Dr. Parkinson is the president and CEO of Nodality, a biotechnology company based in San Francisco, California which is focused on the biological characterization of signaling pathways in patients with malignancy to enable more effective therapeutics development and decision-making.

Until October 2007, Dr. Parkinson was senior vice-president, oncology research and development at Biogen Idec. At Biogen Idec he oversaw all oncology discovery research efforts and the development of the oncology pipeline. Previously he was vice-president, oncology development, at Amgen and vice-president, global clinical oncology development, at Novartis. During his tenures at Amgen and Novartis, Dr. Parkinson was responsible for clinical development activities leading to a series of successful global drug registrations for important cancer therapeutics, including Gleevec, Femara, Zometa, Kepivance, and Vectibix.

Dr. Parkinson worked at the National Cancer Institute from 1990 to 1997, serving as chief of the investigational drug branch, then as acting associate director of the cancer therapy evaluation program. He has also held academic positions at the MD Anderson Cancer Center, University of Texas and New England Medical Center of Tufts University School of Medicine.


Dr. Simon Sutcliffe, MD

Currently, in addition to serving as Board Chair for the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer, Dr Sutcliffe is President of the International Cancer Control Congress Association and Chairs the International Steering Committee for the International Cancer Control Congress; President of the International Network for Cancer Treatment and Research – Canada Branch; Board Chair of the Institute for Health Systems Sustainability; and Associate Scientist with the Genome Sciences Centre, BC Cancer Agency and an Adjunct Professor in the Faculty of Graduate Studies, University of British Columbia.

Dr Sutcliffe was a staff oncologist and member of the senior scientific staff of the Ontario Cancer Institute/Princess Margaret Hospital (OCI/PMH) 1982-1989, the Vice President Oncology Programs 1989-1993, Professor of Radiology, University of Toronto (1989-1996), and the President and CEO of OCI/PMH 1994-1996.  Between 1996 and 2000, Dr Sutcliffe was Vice President at the BC Cancer Agency with responsibility for the Vancouver Cancer Centre, academic development in oncology with the University of British Columbia and leadership of the Provincial Tumour Groups.  Dr Sutcliffe was appointed President and CEO of the BC Cancer Agency (October 2000 – March 2009).  

In 2002, Dr Sutcliffe was appointed as Chair of the Governing Council of the Canadian Strategy for Cancer Control (Canada’s national cancer control plan).  With federal government funding of $250 million over 5 years for the plan in 2006, the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer (CPAC) was established.  Dr Sutcliffe was appointed Chair of the Board of CPAC in June 2009.
More info here Simon Sutcliffe - October 2010.pdf


Dr. Steve Robbins, PhD

Dr. Stephen Robbins completed his undergraduate degree at York University in 1985 in Toronto and then completed his PhD in 1991 at the University of British Columbia in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology. He then obtained his love for cancer research while pursuing his postdoctoral studies (1991-1996) under Nobel laureate, Dr. J. Michael Bishop at the University of California at San Francisco.

He joined the University of Calgary in 1996 where he is now an Associate Professor in the Departments of Oncology and Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. He has just finished his final term as a Scientist of the Alberta Innovates Health Solutions (formerly know as the Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research) and held a prestigious Canada Research Chair in Molecular Genetics of Cancer for 10 years. He also has just completed his term as the Director of the Southern Alberta Cancer Research Institute, one of seven Institutes within the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Calgary and was the Associate Director Research for Alberta Health Services Cancer Care.

 His expertise is recognized nationally as he serves and has chaired several national grant panels including the National Cancer Institute of Canada, Cancer Research Society and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research.

Back to Top