skip to main content

The Terry Fox New Frontiers Program Project Grants (2018)


This opportunity targets the aggregation of independently fundable research projects around a common theme and the inclusion of core technologies that are used by each of the projects into a Program Project. The funding program provides support to a group of independent researchers from multiple disciplines conducting high quality investigations in a complex area of cancer research. The purpose of the program is to stimulate new breakthroughs through group interactions based on the premise that high impact work in complex areas of cancer research requires collaboration. The Terry Fox New Frontiers Program Project Grant (PPG) is designed for researchers with complementary skills, who investigate different aspects of a given cancer relevant topic, the results of which will be realized more rapidly and efficiently than if the individual projects were to be funded as a series of independent operating grants. This long-standing funding opportunity has supported many of the best cancer research groups in Canada.


The purpose is to discover and explore new frontiers in cure-oriented cancer research. 

Support Offered

This RFA supports programs comprised of a minimum of three independent researchers and their research projects, and may also include one or more technology platforms that will be used by the projects. Support is offered, commencing on July 1, 2018, for:

  • New Applications of up to $750,000 per annum for a maximum of three years, and

  • Renewing Applications of up to $1,500,000 per annum for a maximum of five years. 

Key Deadlines

Stage Dates Status
Submission of a Letter of Intent August 8, 2017 (5:00 pm PDT) Complete
Invitation to Submit a Full Application September 29, 2017 Complete
Submission of a Full Application December 8, 2017 (5:00 pm PST) Complete
Site Visits Held March/April 2018
Notice of Decision/Awards May 31, 2018  
Funding Starts July 1, 2018  


Guidance provided

Summary of Letter of Intent stage

As described in the competition Request for Applications (RFA), The Terry Fox Research Institute (TFRI) has created a Program Project Grant Steering Committee on Research Excellence (PPG SCORE) which will oversee this year's competition. The committee reviewed 20 Letters of Intent (LOIs) on Wednesday August 30, 2017 in Toronto. All LOIs received were from established cancer researchers proposing to study important cancer questions in novel and innovative ways. The committee has recommended that six LOI teams be invited to prepare full applications.

Program Title

Project Leader(s)

Adaptive Oncology: Stratified medicine for treatment of CDK refractory breast cancer

John Bartlett

Ultrasound and MRI for Cancer Therapy

Gregory Czarnota

Directing GBM Differentiation

Peter Dirks

Acute Leukemia Immunotherapeutic alternatiVEs (ALIVE)

Elie Haddad
Denis-Claude Roy

New Vistas on Cancer Biology and Treatment: Conceptual Advancements from the Forme Fruste Project

David Huntsman

Early Detection and Prevention of Cancer in Li-Fraumeni Syndrome

David Malkin

TFRI SCORE Committee Membership

David Rose, PhD (chair)

Professor and Chair, Dept of Biology, University of Waterloo

Jennifer Chan, MD

Associate Professor, University of Calgary, Kids Cancer Care Foundation Chair in Pediatric Oncology, Deputy Director, Charbonneau Cancer Institute

Elizabeth Eisenhauer MD FRCPC FRSC

Professor Emeritus, Queen’s University

Spencer Gibson, PhD

Head of Cell Biology, Research Institute in Oncology and Hematology, Professor (tenured), Departments of Biochemistry and Medical Genetics and Immunology, University of Manitoba

Calum MacAulay, PhD

Head, and Distinguished Scientist, Imaging Unit, Integrative Oncology Department, BC Cancer Agency

Anne-Marie Mes-Masson, PhD

Full professor, University of Montréal, Dept. Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, Institut du cancer de Montréal, CRCHUM, University of Montréal

Lynne-Marie Postovit, PhD

Co-director, Basic Research, Cancer Research Institute of Northern Alberta, Alberta Innovates Health Solutions Translational Health Chair in Cancer, Sawin-Baldwin Chair in Ovarian Cancer & Dr. Anthony Noujaim Legacy Oncology Chair, Associate Professor, Department of Oncology, Associate Adjunct Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, University of Alberta

Lillian Siu, MD FRCPC

BMO Chair in Precision Genomics, Professor, University of Toronto, Director of Phase I Program, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre

Jim Woodgett, PhD

Director of Research and Senior Investigator, Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute, Mount Sinai Hospital

For inquiries, please contact:

Russell Watkins
Terry Fox Research Institute
675 West 10th Avenue
Vancouver, BC V5Z 1L3 Canada
Telephone: 1-604-675-8000 ext 7624
Email: rwatkins@tfri.ca

Back to Top