skip to main content

TFRI_PanCan_Header

This inaugural series, to be held every other month beginning in September, features virtual talks from program leaders and trainees who will showcase the innovative and cutting-edge programs and projects funded by TFRI. These seminars will be of interest primarily to cancer researchers, clinicians and trainees across the country.

Upcoming talk

TFRI Pan Can Seminar Series: Presented by TFRI's Atlantic Node

  • Monday, Nov. 22, 2021
  • 3:30-5 pm ADT / 2:30–4pm EDT / 12:30–2pm MDT / 11:30–1pm PDT
  • Registration: https://bit.ly/3pt0cvh

TFRI Pan Can Seminar Series: Presented by TFRI's Prairies Node

  • Monday, Jan. 10, 2021
  • 9:30-10:45 am PDT / 10:30-11:45am MDT / 12:30-1:45pm EDT / 1:30-2:45pm ADT

  •  Registration: https://bit.ly/3aM0ZPa

Upcoming talks 

TFRI Pan Can Seminar Series: Presented by TFRI's Atlantic Node

TFRI_Atlantic_2021

With a keynote by:

  • Jeanette Boudreau, PhD, Dalhousie Medical Research Foundation Cameron Cancer Scientist Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Department of Pathology, Dalhousie University, presenting: “Natural killer cell phenotype and immune cell co-localizations distinguish outcomes in ovarian cancer”

And presentations by:

  • Helmi Alfarra, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Biology, University of New Brunswick, presenting: “Natural killer cell biomarker profiling in multiple myeloma patients”
  • Modeline Nicholas Longjohn, PhD Candidate, Department of Biochemistry, Memorial University of Newfoundland and Trainee, Beatrice Hunter Cancer Research Institute (BHCRI) Cancer Research Training Program, presenting: “miRNA approaches to monitoring paediatric B cell acute lymphoblastic leukaemia”

TFRI Pan Can Seminar Series: Presented by TFRI's Prairies Node

TFRI_PanCan_Prairies

This event will have keynote speeches from:

  • Dr. Franco Vizeacoumar, B.Sc., PhD, Professor, Division of Oncology, University of Saskatchewan, presenting: “Therapeutic targets impacting telomeric and non-telomeric roles of telomerase”, and
  • Dr. Afshin Raouf, PhD, Associate Professor, Max Rady College of Medicine Immunology, University of Manitoba, presenting: “Breast tumour-adjacent tissue is an alternative source of tumour-reactive T cells”

And trainee presentations from:

  • MacKenzie MacAuley, B.Sc., Graduate student, University of Saskatchewan, presenting: “Mapping synthetic lethal interactions using high density CRISPR/Cas9 screens”, and
  • Diana Topolnitska, Graduate student, Faculty of Health Science, University of Manitoba, presenting: “A comparative analysis of T-cell subsets in tumour-infiltrated and tumour-adjacent breast tissue”

Registration

TFRI Pan Can Seminar Series: Presented by TFRI's Atlantic Node

TFRI Pan Can Seminar Series: Presented by TFRI's Prairies Node

Archived talks 

MOHCCN Seminar Series: TFRI's EPPIC Program

MONDAY, OCT 4, 2021

TFRI_MOH_Speaker 

Presenters

Dr. Yifan Wang, MD, PhD (candidate), presenting Informing pancreatic cancer care through ambulatory oncology clinic-based germline testing models and precision medicine
 
James Topham (BC Genome Sciences Centre) and Erica Tsang (BC Cancer) presenting KRAS WT Pancreatic Cancer (Exact title TBC)

Moderator

Dr. George Zogopoulos, MD, PhD, FRCS(C), FACS. Associate Professor of Surgery and Oncology, McGill University and Scientist, Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre and Rosalind and Morris Goodman Cancer Institute

 

TFRI Pan-Can Seminar Series: BC Cancer's Centre for Lymphoid Cancer

SEPTEMBER 20, 2021

TFRI_PanCan_Speaker

Presenters

  • Brett Collinge, Graduate Student, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, University of British Columbia, Scott lab, Centre for Lymphoid Cancer, who will speak on: New molecular taxonomies in aggressive B cell lymphomas
  • Christopher Rushton, Graduate Student, Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, Simon Fraser University, Morin lab, who will speak onGenomic analysis of relapsed-refractory diffuse large B cell lymphoma

Contact Us

For any questions on the TFRI Pan-Can Series, please contact:

Kelly Curwin
Chief Communications Officer
Terry Fox Research Institute
kcurwin@tfri.ca

 

Opportunities

Fall 2021 Cancer Research Training Program

The Fall 2021 Cancer Research Training Program funding competition is now open!

Intent to Apply form is due by 4:00 pm ADT on 7 September 2021. The CRTP Application deadline is 4:00pm ADT on 1 October 2021. Funding will begin on January 1, 2022.

To apply, please visit BHCRI website to download the Intent to Apply form, CRTP Traineeship Application  and Checklist: http://bhcri.ca/traineeship-application-package.”