skip to main content

TFRI is led, governed and managed by its President and Scientific Director, Board of Directors, Executive and a Scientific Advisory Committee. The Executive comprises the leaders of our Regional Nodes. This team is supported by Headquarters Staff located in Vancouver, BC.

TFRI has established partnerships with more than 60 partners across Canada, bringing together more than 300 of the best and brightest researchers and clinicians from top cancer care and research centres, hospitals and universities across the country.

  • Role
  • Location
  • Partner
  • Board of Directors
  • Headquarters Staff
  • President
  • Researcher
  • TFRI Executive
  • Canada Wide
  • Ontario
  • British Columbia
  • Alberta
  • Québec
  • Manitoba
  • New Brunswick
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Nova Scotia
  • Saskatchewan
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Ajmera Transplant Centre
  • Alberta Cancer Foundation
  • Alberta Health Services
  • Alberta Innovates - Health Solutions
  • Arnie Charbonneau Cancer Institute
  • AstraZeneca Canada
  • Atlantic Cancer Research Institute
  • BC Cancer Foundation
  • BC Cancer Research Institute
  • BC Children's Hospital
  • Beatrice Hunter Cancer Research Institute
  • BioCanRX
  • Brock University
  • Canada's Michael Smith Genome Sciences Centre
  • Canadian Institutes of Health Research
  • Canadian Partnership Against Cancer
  • CancerCare Manitoba
  • Capital Health
  • Centre de recherche de Centre hospitalier de L’Université de Montréal
  • Centre de Recherche Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
  • Centre for Drug Research and Development
  • Centre Hospitalier de L’Université de Montréal
  • Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario Research Institute
  • CHU - Quebec
  • CHU - Sainte-Justine
  • Cross Cancer Institute
  • CSSS Champlain—Charles-Le Moyne
  • Dalhousie University
  • Department of Industry, Energy and Technology, Govt. of Newfoundland & Labrador
  • Dr. Georges-L.-Dumont University Hospital Centre
  • Eastern Health
  • Gairdner Foundation
  • Genome BC
  • Genome Canada
  • Health Canada
  • Hoffmann-LaRoche Limited
  • Hôpital du Sacré-Coeur de Montréal
  • Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont
  • Horizon Health Network
  • Hôtel-Dieu de Québec
  • Imagia
  • Innovation, Science and Economic Development
  • Institut Universitaire de Cardiologie et de Pneumologie de Québec
  • Institute for Research in Immunology and Cancer
  • IWK Health Centre
  • Jewish General Hospital
  • Juravinski Cancer Centre
  • London Health Sciences Centre
  • Lotte & John Hecht Memorial Foundation
  • Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute
  • McGill Cancer Centre
  • McGill University
  • McGill University Health Centre
  • McMaster University
  • Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • MITACS Canada
  • Montreal Children's Hospital
  • Montreal Clinical Research Institute (Institut de recherches clinique de Montréal)
  • Mount Sinai Hospital
  • National Science Council (NSC)
  • New Brunswick Cancer Network
  • New Brunswick Health Research Foundation
  • New Brunswick Innovation Foundation
  • Nova Scotia Health
  • Oncopole
  • Ontario Institute for Cancer Research
  • Ottawa Hospital Research Institute
  • Pancreatic Cancer Canada
  • Pfizer Canada
  • Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
  • QEII Foundation
  • Quebec Breast Cancer Foundation
  • Queen's University
  • Research Manitoba
  • Research Nova Scotia
  • Rosalind & Morris Goodman Cancer Institute
  • Ryerson University
  • Saint John Regional Hospital
  • Saskatchewan Cancer Agency
  • Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation
  • Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, Western University
  • Simon Fraser University
  • Sinai Health
  • St. Mary’s Hospital Center
  • St. Paul's Hospital
  • Stollery Children's Hospital
  • Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
  • Sunnybrook Research Institute
  • Team Finn Foundation
  • The C17 Council
  • The Cole Foundation
  • The Hospital for Sick Children
  • The Terry Fox Foundation
  • Tom Baker Cancer Centre
  • Toronto General Hospital Research Institute
  • Université de Montreal
  • Université de Sherbrooke
  • Université Laval
  • Université Sherbrooke
  • University Health Network
  • University of Alberta
  • University of British Columbia
  • University of Calgary
  • University of Guelph
  • University of Manitoba
  • University of New Brunswick
  • University of Ottawa
  • University of Prince Edward Island
  • University of Saskatchewan
  • University of Toronto
  • University of Victoria
  • University of Victoria Genome BC Proteomics Centre
  • University of Waterloo
  • Vancouver Coastal Health Authority
  • Vancouver Coastal Health Research Institute
  • Vancouver General Hospital
  • Vancouver Island University
  • Vancouver Prostate Centre
  • Vitalité Health Network
  • Women's College Hospital
  • York University

President & Scientific Director

  • Jim Woodgett

    President and Scientific DirectorBoard of Directors member

Board of Directors

  • Dr. John Bell

    Board of Directors memberSenior Scientist (Ottawa Hospital Research Institute) and Professor of Medicine (University of Ottawa)
  • Carol Chiang

    Board of Directors memberAudit partner and Industry lead at KPMG (BC)
  • Carolyn Chisholm

    Board of Directors memberDirector of external relations, Rio Tinto Canada
  • Darrell Fox

    Senior AdvisorBoard of Directors member
  • Wendy Freeman

    Board of Directors member
  • Dr. Victor Ling

    Founding President and Scientific Director
  • Michael Mazza

    Executive Director, Terry Fox Foundation
  • Dr. Chris Paige

    Chair of the Board of DirectorsSenior Scientist (University Health Network)
  • Dr. Linda Penn

    Board of Directors memberSenior Scientist (Princess Margaret Cancer Centre)
  • Dr. Marla Shapiro

    Board of Directors memberProfessor in the Department of Family and Community Medicine (University of Toronto)
  • Jim Woodgett

    President and Scientific DirectorBoard of Directors member

TFRI Research Council

  • Dr. Sherri Christian

    Atlantic Cancer Consortium Co-Lead
  • Dr. Spencer Gibson

    Prairies Node LeaderProvincial Director, Research (CancerCare Manitoba)
  • Dr. Marco Marra

    BC Node LeaderDirector and Distinguished Scientist (Michael Smith Genome Sciences Centre, BC Cancer)
  • Dr. Jean-Yves Masson

    Quebec Node LeaderProfessor (Laval University Cancer Research Center)
  • Dr. Robert Rottapel

    Ontario Node LeaderSenior Scientist (University Health Network, University of Toronto)
  • Jim Woodgett

    President and Scientific DirectorBoard of Directors member

Headquarters Staff